Ebook Ù The Simulacrum PDF ↠


The Simulacrum ➶ [Read] ➲ The Simulacrum By Brad D. Seggie ➾ – Thomashillier.co.uk Less than a year after discovering a human fossil and a dinosaur fossil found together paleontologist Wayne Oakford is murdered His niece Mary Dillard believes the killer was another scientist who was Less than a year after discovering a human fossil and a dinosaur fossil found together paleontologist Wayne Oakford is murdered His niece Mary Dillard believes the killer was another scientist who was trying to ruin his reputation She hires a private detective Gunnar Schofield to investigate the murder While travelling across the country the pair learns that a secret society of scientists has been falsifying the fossil record to discredit creationism and support Darwin's theory of evolution Will she succeed in clearing Wayne Oakford's name Will the truth about evolution be exposed to the worldA fast paced thriller with an intriguing scientific mystery Plenty of similarities to Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code that blockbuster page turner This book moves at a similarly brisk pace with short chapters snappy dialogue and great chemistry between the two leads as they jet from one destination to another one revelation to the next one precarious bit of danger after the other This thriller delivers Kirkus Reviews.

  • ebook
  • The Simulacrum
  • Brad D. Seggie
  • 21 July 2014

10 thoughts on “The Simulacrum

  1. Lisa Godfrees Lisa Godfrees says:

    As both a scientist and a Christian I was eager to read this book The Simulacrum is correct in its assertion that evolution is taught as if it's proven instead of still being a theory Many of the criticisms of macro evolution are deftly presented through dialog to advance the plot The only area that gave me pause was the motivation behind the bad guys scientists who would do anything to cover up any discovery that would challenge evolution theory But you can't have a mysterythriller without bad guys so I chalked it up to artistic license If the Da Vinci code can have evil priests then The Simulacrum can have evil well I can't tell you because that would be a spoilerThe writing is great and the story is fun If you like detective novels and thrillers with a rugged hero and sassy yet in need of rescue heroine you won't be disappointed in this bookLooking forward to the next one

  2. Kimberli Kimberli says:

    I'm a fan of James Rollins' early works ia Excavation and this novel reminds me of those stories The Simulacrum is a fun read with action and intrigue and calling into uestion the practice of teaching theory as absolute factThe following may contain spoilersThis novel doesn't teach creationism over evolution nor does it try to push a literal interpretation of the creation account in Genesis Instead it asks why some scientists refuse to entertain alternate theories based on new discoveries as science is prone to do In this case a human fossil found alongside a dinosaur The find leads to a murder coverup conspiracies and chases galore I couldn't wait until it was released and though it took a theistic evolution approach I thoroughly enjoyed it I hope there will be a Book 2

  3. Stanley Stanley says:

    Not to badI did enjoy this book it’s a little bit contrived but still was pretty fun to read and the ending made you want of the characters

  4. Cindy Huff Cindy Huff says:

    The Simulacrum is a scientific thriller revolving around the origin of man sprinkled with violence murder and kidnapping With lots of fast moving action sprinkled throughout Mary Dillard is determined to find out who really murder her paleontologist uncle The mystery becomes far complicated than she ever imagined With the aid of private Investigator Gunnar Schofield she discovers a secret society of Scientist determined to protect their version of scientific theory at any cost Even at the cost of her life I loved the beautifully worded fast paced story Linda Yezak and Brad Seggie have woven I loved the twists in plot and the unexpected action scenes Every heart pound moment has a you are there feel to it The amount of research shows through in every detail of this “what if” adventureAlthough I loved the story I did not love the detailed explanation of scientific theories Even though it was in laymen’s terms I found myself wanted to scan those sections to get back to the action I appreciated the information but at times for me there was almost too muchI loved the characters of Mary and Gunnar Their interaction was believable and fun Indian Jones has nothing on these two The villians were interesting However I did figure out who the mysterious mastermind was behind all the murder and mayhem with in the first few chapters But then again I read a lot The Epilogue gave me a taste of what will be in the next book in the series I will be one of the first in line to purchase the next adventure of Gunnar and Mary This is a wonderful read even if you are not a science nerd

  5. Rich Weatherly Rich Weatherly says:

    A Must Read for Fans of SuspenseThrillersBrad Seggie and Linda Yezak have crafted an exceptional mystery suspense thriller When Mary Dillard engages the services of private detective Gunner Schofield to clear the name of her murdered Uncle Wayne Oxford she triggers an avalanche of opposition from the scientific communityOxford was a respected paleontologist on a uest to determine answers to hidden truths and unravel problems with fossil dating He was killed just before a meeting at a conference of his peers and others in his field Mary Dillard is convinced his planned disclosure cost him his lifeThe efforts of Mary and Gunner become a magnet attracting Oxford's killer As they attempt to track down the killer an escalating seuence of attacks against their lives ensues I can see parallels to the original Raider's of the Lost Ark Time and again I caught myself trying to guess how the protagonists would escape the current dilemmaThis is an action packed page turner that easily ualifies as a thriller Not only that readers will find fully developed three dimensional characters something not always seen in books of this genre What I like is the way readers are brought into the lives of Mary Gunner her ties to her uncle her job so close to the antagonists Gunners demons and Mary's resemblance to his wife The plot makes their lives impossible for much of the timeThe Simulacrum left me totally satisfied I'm a fan of thrillers and this was as good as it getsThe Simulacrum Gunnar Schofield Book 1

  6. Gina Olesen Gina Olesen says:

    The title is the first thing I need to talk about A Simulacrum is a copy of something a copy that is not of the same uality and is meant to deceive if I interpret the definition correctly The novel is not a copy of anything however The premise of the novel is different than any novel I have ever readuniue and fascinating The explanations of complex scientific evidence that supports the premise of the novel are cleverly woven into the plot of the storySeggie and Yezak have posed some fascinating uestions for their readers I have always believed in Darwin's theory of evolution without uestion but after reading this novel I have been asking myself some hard uestions about my beliefs The scientific information that supports the theories of Creationism is credible and thought provoking; now I have to do some research myself to see if any of their facts are true My willing suspension of disbelief really kicked in with the last 3rd of the novel The characters are believable and sympathetic especially Gunnar Schofield A few weak spots that strained my belief but overall the novel is a solid hit and deserves 4 stars

  7. Cole Cole says:

    This was a good book It started to feel like the DaVinci code only reversed Instead of the Church trying to cover up a scandal it was the scientific community The book brought up some interesting views on the science behind evolution and the interpretation of the data we have I haven't looked into any of the claims that were made but they were made in a similar fashion of the DaVinci code information set in a fictional story that may or may not be true for the real world I'm a Christian so I took in what was being said and felt it could be true I'm also someone who seeks out the truth so I'm going to look into the claims that were made here; I'm going to figure out if anything here has credence As for the story it was good The characters had depth and were interesting I saw a few twists coming a mile away and some of the dialogue seemed clunky But I enjoyed the read and I would probably read a seuel if it is ever written The end surely set up the characters for another adventure

  8. Lisa Godfrees Lisa Godfrees says:

    As both a scientist and a Christian I was eager to read this book The Simulacrum is correct in its assertion that evolution is taught as if it's proven instead of still being a theory Many of the criticisms of macro evolution are deftly presented through dialog to advance the plot The only area that gave me pause was the motivation behind the bad guys scientists who would do anything to cover up any discovery that would challenge evolution theory But you can't have a mysterythriller without bad guys so I chalked it up to artistic license If the Da Vinci code can have evil priests then The Simulacrum can have evil well I can't tell you because that would be a spoilerThe writing is great and the story is fun If you like detective novels and thrillers with a rugged hero and sassy yet in need of rescue heroine you won't be disappointed in this bookLooking forward to the next one

  9. Judy A. Ptacek Judy A. Ptacek says:

    Full ofactionandadventureA page turner full of action mysrery and hidden agendas When her uncle is discredited and murdered she hires a PI to help her The story heats up fast and involves famous and powerful people A inviible college wants to keep the belief of Darwin's Evolution and natural selection to continue unchallenged What happens to archological finds that go against Evolution They are discredited and hidden from the public The deeper they dig the fact that a full skeleton was found along side a dinosaur by her uncle He kept the skull and planned to expose the fact that the archeological finds were being changed to disprove spontaneous evolution did not happen There are a kidnapping gun fire car chases and loads of twists I am recomending this book to my friends and I hope this auuthor writes books I was given a free book in exchange for my honest review

  10. Juanita Juanita says:

    Review The Simulacrum by Linda YezakThe book is a work of Fiction with adventure a murder a new romance a chase a secret society travel and a good politically scientific stimulating story The author shows how intensive the research was by her complexity for an intriguing plot concepts and information that was well written to keep me interested and fascinatedMary Dillard was determined to find out who murdered her paleontologist uncle who studies the ancient times by using fossils as evidence As the mystery goes on and becomes complicated that she needed the help from private investigator Gunner Schofield They discovered a secret society of Scientists who are controlling and protecting their version of scientific theory of the evolution being the plausible reason for human existence which they believe is the true information and would do anything to keep their work hidden away

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *