Paperback Ù The Furies MOBI ↠


The Furies ➳ [Read] ➮ The Furies By Keith Roberts ➾ – Thomashillier.co.uk America and Russian both explode huge H bombs simultaneously The tests go wrong cracking the seabed rupturing continents and engulfing cities The Thames flattens into a flood plain London is drowned N America and Russian both explode huge H bombs simultaneously The tests go wrong cracking the seabed rupturing continents and engulfing cities The Thames flattens into a flood plain London is drowned Now comes cosmic retribution giant wasps monstrous and deadly directed by a supernatural intelligence invade a reeling world In England isolated guerrillas fight on.

  • Paperback
  • 220 pages
  • The Furies
  • Keith Roberts
  • English
  • 24 June 2016
  • 9780140071917

About the Author: Keith Roberts

Used These Alternate Names Alistair Bevan John Kingston David Stringer Keith John Kingston Roberts was a British science fiction author He began publishing with two stories in the September issue of Science Fantasy magazine Anita the first of a series of stories featuring a teenage modern witch and her eccentric granny and EscapismSeveral of his early stories were written using t.



10 thoughts on “The Furies

  1. ℜoxie -₮he ℛeader ℜoxie -₮he ℛeader says:

    Firstly I will say that this book originally did not appeal to me and I was very sceptical about how good this would actually be I mean giant mutant wasps not usually my thing but after reading the first few sentences I knew this was going to be an interesting read and became pretty hookedThe main character is Bill Sampson and I love the way that Keith Roberts has enabled him to tell the story in a witty charming indepth nightmare and emotional rollercoaster of a ride kinda wayThe main story is set in Brockledean this is a fast paced book which drops you into madness and mayhem within the first few chapters along the way we get to meet an array of wonderful characters Sekhmet Bills pure black Great Dane who he has had since a puppy being one of my favs yes a dog Sek is a massive influence throughout most of the story is a true hero who sadly losses her life protecting Bill and Jane in an epic attack from the Furies Jane Felicity Beddoes Smythe is also a firm fav of mine who orginally takes a liking to Sek the dog and then starts to visit both Bill and Sek on a daily basis which then forms a relationship and bond between them all she is funny sweet and innocent and I love the special bond they all share Sadly during an attack from the Furies Bill and Jane end up having to seperate to survive and we dont hear much about her after thisI could go on and on Greg Douglas and Dilks who ended up in a camp like a prison for the humans captured by the Furies with Bill Sampson who both become big parts of the book near to the end both had such amazing and strong personalitiesThe Furies with their puppy dog like faces and garish clicking mouths eyes that capture even the smallest of movements and brains that are far intelligent than humans ever imagined are the things of nightmares okay not mine but certainly any wasp haterAnd to conclude my feelings about the book are mixed whilst I really did enjoy the storyline far than I ever antisipated I felt the build up led us to a rather dull end it just fell slightly short for me on the ending What ever happened to Jane?Still I found it a very enjoyable and fun read

  2. Leonard Leonard says:

    The Guardian's Keith Roberts obit called this a failed attempt to produce a catastrophe novel in the vein of John Wyndham or John Christopher I see it as something else a catastrophe novel a bit in the vein of The Day of the Triffids a horror story in which the denizens of the back garden turn against their English masters and a catastrophe novel a bit in the vein of The Crystal World a surrealist fantasia in which the landscape is transformed into the embodiment of a dream or nightmare—the logic or illogic of which some characters submit to than willingly The premise is unashamedly nutso nebulous intelligences from outer space use the opportunity of simultaneous earth shattering nuclear tests to fly among us as giant wasps enslaving those remnants of humanity they haven't killed and covering a once green and pleasant land with dismal hive metropolises gigantic surrealist umbrellas But the lurid paperback cover worthy prologue is undermined on the very next page where the tone turns measured and elegiac There were massacres burnings tiny battles among the winter wheat Meanwhile the cities died And the book's characters muse at least once on the ridiculousness of it all This too The uppermost goal of our little band of resistance fighters is the destruction of edifices made of pulp No SF critic in nearly a half century has noticed this? There's some jolly playing around with tropes here I say—not to mention plenty of thrilling man versus wasp adventures and all the usual Keith Roberts business the atmospheric prose; the obvious and eual loves for the British countryside rustic speech and intricate machines; the ever present multi girl who here calls into uestion centuries of sexual morality Altogether fun satisfying and complex than I expected

  3. Roddy Williams Roddy Williams says:

    ‘We both watched the incredible death working its way towards us’America and Russia both explode H bombs simultaneously The tests go wrong cracking the seabed rupturing continents and engulfing cities The Thames flattens into a flood plain London is drownedNow comes cosmic retribution – giant wasps monstrous and deadly directed by a supernal intelligence invade a reeling world In England isolated guerrillas fight on’Blurb from the 1966 Pan paperback editionRoberts is at the literary end of the SF writers’ spectrum and can be spoken of with the same air of reverence which one reserves for Brian Aldiss Christopher Priest M John Harrison and indeed John Wyndham with whose ‘Day of The Triffids’ this has to be inevitably comparedWyndham combined a biological menace with a worldwide human disaster Triffids already extant in the world were controlled by human numbers and technology Rendering 9999% of the population blind allowed the triffids an evolutionary advantageHere worldwide earthuakes caused by nuclear tests give the chance for giant wasps to move in and take overAs in ‘Triffids’ there is a male narrator Bill Sampson whose name is very similar to that of Wyndham’s hero He joins up with a group of people hiding in caves and engaging in guerrilla raids against the giant wasps’ nests in which some humans have been captured and are working with and for The Furies as the deadly creatures have become knownAlso as in ‘Triffids’ the hero becomes involved with a woman with a past Initially he and his Great Dane Sekhmet were in hiding with an independent upper class schoolgirl although our hero later puts her on a boat bound for The Isle of Wight since the wasps can’t travel far over waterHaving been later captured by The Furies and escaping he becomes drawn to another woman known as Pete one with a past of abuse and prostitution Again there are parallels with Wyndham’s Josella Playton and her rather prim ‘skeleton in the closet’ of having written a book called ‘Sex is My Adventure’These parallels are superficial however Although one of Roberts’ early works there are indications of the powerful writer he was to becomeHe paints a portrait of English society very well although one that seems to reflect Wyndham’s Nineteen Fifties rather than Nineteen Sixty Six It doesn’t have the depth and complexity of his later work but is nonetheless a solid and enjoyable example of the British catastrophe novel Is it cosy? One would have to say yes since one would suspect that human society would revert far to individual survival strategies with a good streak of vicious selfishness under such circumstances although maybe that is a Twenty First Century perspective

  4. Antiloquax Antiloquax says:

    Run for the hills Huge wasps are coming

  5. Cheryl Cheryl says:

    Not Found jo walton mentioned as 'cozy catastrophe' which may resemble 'optimistic post apocalyptic' or may not

  6. Jason Bradley Thompson Jason Bradley Thompson says:

    This extremely mediocre British 'cozy catastrophe' novel is only impressive for somehow beating Day of the Triffids for the most implausible setup here instead of blindness AND killer plants coincidentally striking Earth at the same time it's planet shattering earthuakes AND global swarms of semi intelligent killer giant wasps The narrator a reader insert character with no family or background survives the initial uake and must then deal with the wasps who can't speak or manipulate objects but rule England like fascist occupiers forcing humans to farm food for them and stinging of course anyone who resists There's many characters with thick regional British accents a handful of attractive women for the hero to flirt with her breasts pushed softly against the thin material of her shirt many stiff upper lip WWII Britain references and lots of scenes of the resourceful hero repairing damaged automobiles and driving around the countryside in an ard car shooting giant wasps with a flamethrower Eventually the hero joins a organized resistance movement who organize guerrilla raids on the giant wasp nests until the book abruptly ends with view spoilerthe wasps all going mad and dying because we're told their advanced intelligence was overwhelmed by the brute nature of their stupid wasp bodies hide spoiler

  7. Malcolm Malcolm says:

    If I were to choose a book for every year of my life this would be in there for about 1969 when I was 15 This was not long after it was first published It is a terrific fats paced story about human endurance in the face of adversity It is reminiscent of Day of the Triffids via early Dr WhoAt the time I had a friend who didn't share my enjoyment of books He couldn't see the point as the books he had been offered were boring I gave him my copy of the Furies and he thought it was great it got him hooked on reading The buzz I got from helping someone get in to reading probably contributed to my becoming a librarianI read the book again in my 50s Though I found it slightly dated I still enjoyed it A great read

  8. Martin Martin says:

    I have read this several times Basic plot makes for a far better story than it first sounds world taken over by giant wasps yes that's what I said its extremely good Roberts wrote in mid 60's and it is rather dated but its an excellent and refreshingly different take on the 'post apolyptic' twaddle so often churned out since I've always found it reads like it should be book 1 and 2 as there is a very sudden plot twist in the middle A dark and riveting book Love it

  9. Shari Scott Shari Scott says:

    This was like reading a ScyFy creature feature without all the terrible acting Very enjoyablethe characters were interesting and the action never let up My only problem was the ending explanationthat was a little weak and unsatisfying Otherwise a very enjoyable diversion

  10. Alice Florence Alice Florence says:

    Surprisingly good I'd have given it a 5 bit I can't really justify ranking a book about giant killer wasps as high as my other 5s Yep a book about giant wasps that take over earth And it was actually a very good read Mental

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *